Blooming Hormones!

Hormones! They’re funny things aren’t they. They can send you scatty and make you become irrational. Even more so when you’re dealing with pregnancy hormones.

I think my hormones have got me today. They’ve sent me mad and making me question my decisions. Not my decision to have a baby, oh no, although I do sometimes wonder if I am slightly mad for having a 4th.

They are making me question my decision about getting sterilised during my scheduled Caesarian section with this one.

I requested to be sterilised this time round. I was meant to have been sterilised when they delivered A, but due to the complications in theatre my consultant decided against it.

I have always said I wanted 4 children. That I would feel content at 4. Then I saw a wonderful blog post today from Tania at Larger Family Life announcing her wonderful news….and it made me think. Is 4 enough? Would I want more? Do I want more? Could my nerves handle any more? Could my body handle any more? and most importantly, could my husband handle any more?

He is adamant that 4 is IT!! No more babies will be created by us after this one. I think if he had had his way we would have stopped at 2, so I have done well to get 4 from him. I’d seriously be pushing it for more…..wouldn’t I??

Go on, tell me how insane I am!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tania Sullivan (@largerfamily)
    Jun 08, 2012 @ 18:55:51

    Aww ((hugs)).

    The decision on how many children to have is yours and your husband’s alone and nobody elses. However, if you have even the slightest of doubts as to sterilisation then do not do it.

    Pregnancy and the first few months after birth is not the time for making major decisions like that, I don’t feel. You can turn to using a temporary form of birth control if you feel you need to but for something so final I would suggest waiting until your new baby is a year old at least – until you are well over the pregnancy, birth (and hopefully getting some proper nights sleep again!).

    You are still young and again I’d say if you have even the smallest of doubts postpone it for now. You can go ahead with it later if you want to. You can’t go back if you go ahead and change your mind a year or two down the line.

  2. Confessions Of A SAHM
    Jun 08, 2012 @ 19:07:57

    Oh Tania, I know you are right. I think I got so scared when I found out that I was pregnant and that we’d have the same complications again, that I automatically thought that sterilisation was the way to go. My Consultant has said I can change my mind at any time as it is irreversible and I am only 27. Its a huge decision, that I think I didn’t fully think through. xxx

  3. Jojoh77
    Jun 13, 2012 @ 16:11:01

    My feeling is, if he hasn’t had a vasectomy then he is obviously open to the possibility of accidents….lol

Talk to me:

