I sponsored a child….

 

As most of you know I went to Cybher last weekend. I came away full of things I wanted to do. Whilst there I had a lovely chat with the people from World Vision and I signed up to sponsor a child.

Its been something that has been on my mind for a while, and the past few weeks K has been mentioning about helping the children in Africa a lot. I thought this would be something great for her to do as she can write to our sponsored child. She was so thrilled when I told her the following day, and showed her the card I had been given by World Vision of the child we are sponsoring.

I received my Welcome pack yesterday. I was reading through the literature they enclosed and it just broke my heart. I mean, you see adverts on TV. You see things such as Comic Relief and Sport Relief and the VT’s they show. You donate or fundraise where you can to give to these charities. You know a few of the facts but not all.

It’s terrifying that in this day and age there are children out there who are dying from simple, preventable causes and the amount of malnutrition there is! We are really lucky here to be able to have nice food to eat every day. To have the opportunity to have such items and to not have to go hungry for days or weeks or even years!

The little girl that we sponsor is in a country called Niger. I hadn’t even heard of Niger before Saturday! I want to share a little bit of information with you that was in the literature of my World Vision welcome pack.

Situated on the Southern edge of the Sahara desert in North West Africa, Niger is one of the hottest and driest countries in the world. Only 3% of the land gets enough rainfall to be farmed. The main crops grown are cereals like millet and sorghum, which are the staple food along with cotton and peanuts, which are grown for export.

  • Population: 14.9 million
  • Life expectancy: 45 years (UK 78.1)
  • 60.6% of the population live on less than US$1 a day
  • 259 of every 1,000 children die before their fifth birthday
  • 8 out of 10 adults cannot read or write

As a mother I find it so shocking and saddened that there are mothers, and fathers, out there who lose their children at a very young age. I couldn’t even begin to image going through that.

I really want to do good. I want to teach my children about how lucky they are and to not take such things like easy access to food and clean water for granted. I want to show the world what is going on. I want people to get involved and help. We shouldn’t still be fighting such poverty and malnutrition in 2012! Children should have access to food and clean water and an education!

I pledge to you, my readers, and to myself that I WILL do good. I WILL use this blog to help me do that and I WILL do my up most to get the message across and get more people involved to help.

 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Slummy to Yummy Mummy
    May 21, 2012 @ 17:17:37

    I sponsored a child with World Vision for years but never really made the most of it. In the end I simply couldn’t afford it any more (we’ve been eeking out £3 for the last 9 days…) but I do intend to do it again when I’m back working properly. It’s a great thing you’re doing.

  2. Confessions Of A SAHM
    May 21, 2012 @ 17:25:59

    It is hard to do when you are struggling yourself. I’m hoping to use the blog to make more awareness about it. It’s great that you have done it and do want to go back to doing it one day xx

  3. Slummy to Yummy Mummy
    May 21, 2012 @ 17:29:55

    Yeah, we are looking forward to the “one day” when we won’t need to worry about finding the money for things like that. We used to have lots of charity direct debits but now we have none. In fact, now we are pretty much a charity ourselves! Still, it won’t last forever.

    World Vision do a great job and I hope you’re able to raise a lot of awareness.

  4. Coombe Mill (Fiona) (@coombemill)
    May 21, 2012 @ 20:01:29

    What a lovely thing to do. We are so lucky compared to others. Good for you making a difference

  5. Confessions Of A SAHM
    May 21, 2012 @ 20:27:21

    I’m just grateful that we are currently in a position to help. X

Talk to me:

