Cybher 2012

On Saturday, I was up early and at the train station to get the tube in to London. I arrived at the swanky 8 Northumberland and felt a little out-of-place to start with. This was my first blogging event and I didn’t know anyone. Sure, I knew people from twitter but I hadn’t arranged to actually meet up with anyone and it seemed that everyone knew everyone. I waited until we could head towards Registration. I collected my badge and a gorgeous leather Cybher satchel, and made my way downstairs to grab a nice cuppa!

I felt like I was in amongst some blogging royalty when I spotted some fabulous bloggers that I follow. I said hello to a few people, had a smooch around the sponsors tables, picked up some wonderful swag and then headed up to the ballroom for the Welcome talks.

You can tell you are in a similar crowd, when out comes the technology! The Cybher twitter feed and instagram feed were going berserk.

The whole day was amazing. The sessions I went on were slightly different from what I was expecting judging by their titles, but still really informative. I really enjoyed the Blogging for Good session and it really made me want to use my blog to do more good.

World Vision was one of the sponsors for Cybher and I took the leap and sponsored a child with them. K had been mentioning a lot about how she wants to help the children in Africa, and as you can write letters to your sponsored child, I thought this would be great for her. She was overjoyed when I presented it to her the next day and was telling me all about how she WILL go to Africa and give the people clean water to drink! Think I have a little budding Charity worker on my hands!

The whole event was inspiring and I really thoroughly enjoyed the whole day. I got to listen to talks by some amazing people, I got to meet some amazing people, and hopefully came away with lots of inspiration for the blog as well as an urge to do good with the blog and support as many charities as I can!!

I really look forward to next year!!

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mummytips
    May 16, 2012 @ 17:58:25

    Thats great that you sponsored a child. I’ll be meeting some of the children that people like you help when I’m in Niger next week.
    Thanks for coming. x

  2. Confessions Of A SAHM
    May 17, 2012 @ 09:07:58

    I’d really love to go out there one day. Cybher has really made me want to do more good for others.

  3. Coombe Mill (Fiona) (@coombemill)
    May 21, 2012 @ 20:05:53

    Well done you for going. I know it was a brave step. May be I will do the same one day, I would like to go

  4. Confessions Of A SAHM
    May 21, 2012 @ 20:28:57

    Thank you, I was so nervous to start with (especially navigating the tubes on my own) but once I got there and everyone got their badges and started recognising each other, I felt a bit better. You should look into attending sometime. You’ll know me 🙂 x

Talk to me:

