Christmas Wishes

I’ll admit, I am a bit of a Scrooge when it comes to Christmas. I haven’t been a fan of it for years. I think it stems from being disappointed as a child with not getting what I really wanted every year.

One year, I was brought a keyboard. It was THE best present ever. I taught myself to play it as my parents wouldn’t let me take piano lessons. The following Birthday and Christmas, all I asked for was a stand for my keyboard. I didn’t want anything else! Christmas arrived and there was a rather large rectangular box with my name on it. I shook it, as you do, and it rattled. It sounded like metal. I was ecstatic! It was the stand I really really wanted……but it wasn’t. It turned out to be a Netball Net. I cannot describe the devastation I felt.

Shortly after that I lost my faith in Santa and Christmas became boring and a chore, and that feeling hasn’t really gone.

It’s getting better since having the children, but one thing I do try to do is give them at least ONE present that they REALLY REALLY want and put on their list to Santa.

So, when BritMums released their Blog Prompt this week entitled Christmas Wishes and asked us What do you really want for Christmas? I considered not doing the prompt.

There isn’t a great deal I would ever truly want. World Peace? The children to stop arguing? A nice slim figure? Bigger house? – They would all be nice, especially the body and house, but those are things that we can work on!

What I would really want for Christmas is:

  • Time – more of it as the day seems to go too quickly
  • Happiness – please no fighting or arguing over games/toys/DVD’s
  • Not to put weight on – Oh how I so wish this could come true! That I could eat as much as I like on the day and for it not to sit straight on my hips! 
  • Snow – Oh I would love for the children to see a true White Christmas!

Overall, I would just like to spend it with my family and for everyone to have a great day.

Soppy and corny, I know!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. supergran
    Dec 02, 2011 @ 20:59:48

    sounds like an ok wish for Christmas to me, and like you I remember not getting what I wanted, Santa obviously never read my letters either

  2. Rachel Gully
    Dec 03, 2011 @ 13:05:43

    Extra sleep would be great too! hehe.

    Hopefully my children will believe in Santa for a long time yet!

    Sorry to hear that Santa never read your letters Supergran 😦

Talk to me:

