Tweet-up

If you’re on the social networking site Twitter, then you may know what a “Tweet-up” is. If you’re not on Twitter, then I’ll do my best to explain.

Twitter is a social networking site where you “follow” people. They can be celebrities (yes, they are on there and some of them are really nice and interact with you!!), people who have the same interests as you, or purely a business that you like and want to keep up to date with.

Each message you send is called a “Tweet”. You also have a facility to “hash-tag” certain words. This then will put all those tweets with the same hash tag in to a “file”, so you can see all messages from users who have used that particluar tag.

So, when I saw that there was going to be a #tweetup for my local area I thought it would be a brilliant way to get to know local people and perhaps make new friends.

The first tweet up was 2 months ago, which unfortunately I couldn’t make. I am normally a shy person, so I am dubious of attending events on my own, but I decided to bite the bullet and go for it. How else are you meant to meet people?

The event itself was hosted by Sundowner VA in a local bar. Sheree was so welcoming, and everyone there was so friendly that my nerves disappeared. It was a free event, although you were asked to “book” in advance to confirm your attendance. Upon arrival, everyone was given a little tag which had your name and your “twitter name” on, so you could recognise people (and follow them, if not already doing so).

There was a few people who had turned up to promote their businesses and to network with people, and I did feel a bit awkward when business cards were exchanged and I was asked what I did for a living. Somehow I felt that saying I was a “Stay at Home Mum” cut it, but everyone was to accepting of my “profession”.

On the whole though it was a great night. I got to meet new people, and I got to put faces to names that I had seen on Twitter.

I would really recommend anyone on Twitter to do a “Tweet-up”. Its great for meeting new people, and great for networking! I’m looking forward to the next one

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Melksham Mum
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 11:27:32

    Organising a local blogger / twitter get together is on my Day Zero Project list. I too am quite shy, especially with a crowd of people I don't know, but I will do it!!

  2. Shell Louise
    Sep 08, 2011 @ 09:01:04

    You're braver than me Rachel! Glad you had a good time 🙂 xx

  3. Rollercoaster Mum
    Sep 10, 2011 @ 00:09:52

    ooh I've never heard of a tweet up – sounds exciting – and quite daunting!

  4. helloitsgemma
    Sep 10, 2011 @ 18:42:44

    I've made some very good friends via twitter – my 'real' friends initially thought it was odd meeting 'virtual' friends.
    I was lucky enough to go to Cybermummy, it was a great experience to meet so many people who I had tweeted with and read their blogs. What was so nice, was feeling very 'at home' with people I'd just met but in fact already knew very well. Never been to a tweet up but I would give it a go.
    Enjoy the next one.

Talk to me:

