Larger Family Life

Ever since I can remember I have always wanted a family. As a child all I ever wanted was to be a mum. I wanted to have a house full of children. I wanted my home to be lived in, for my children to be able to bring their friends round. The amount of children I wanted always differed, but the minimum was always 4.

When I met my now husband and children were discussed, he knew that 4 was the magic number for me. However, he would have been happy to settle at just 2.

To date, I have had 5 pregnancies. Sadly 2 of those ended in miscarriages, and my last pregnancy was so full of complications I have been told not to have anymore. Don’t get me wrong, I am grateful for the children I have and we are very lucky that both myself and A survived my last pregnancy, but for me, 3 isn’t enough.

But how many children is enough? How many children make a large family? If you go away on holiday, or deals for theme parks, a Family ticket is still 2 adults 2 children. I would say that more families are having 3 or more children now.

I am fascinated with large families. I love to know how they do it. How do they cope with all the children. How do they manage their space, cooking, cleaning, getting about, and mostly, how on earth do they afford it?

You hear about these people in the papers with their double figure children by X amount of dads who are demanding more money from the government to support their every growing brood whilst they sit about all day. But, I think those majority of large families are a minority.

I am an avid Twitter fan, and a few months ago I came across a fellow blogger under the name of @LargerFamilyLife. I checked out her blog and was amazed. They were a family of 9 children with twins on the way.

Over the months, I have continued to follow Tania Sullivan on her blog and on Twitter, and was excited to learn that they have just released their first book, Larger Family Life – Living life the large family way, which is being released worldwide and will be available soon to buy. However, if you have a Kindle, you can purchase the Kindle version.

I am very eager to read this book, so I checked it out on the Amazon.co.uk and read the product description. The book is all about Tania, her husband Michael and their large family and how got to where they are today. They also share the things they have learnt on their journey. All the things that I have been wondering about how a large family manage. Tania also home educates the children which is astonishing, and she also talks about this in her book.

I can’t wait for this book to be released and definitely going to pre-order my copy! If you’re interested in large family life, or if indeed you are a large family, this book is a must read.

If you are a fellow blogger, then Tania is giving away a copy of the book to ONE Lucky Winner!! See her Blog for more details.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kita
    Aug 23, 2011 @ 11:34:47

    just wanted to say Hello!,just discovered your blog,via tanias blog,i am a SAHM,i have 6 children,i see one of your children has autism,2 of mine are also autistic.Great post 🙂

  2. Rachel Gully
    Aug 23, 2011 @ 14:11:47

    Hi, Thank You for the comment 🙂 Wow, 6 children! How do you cope, especially with 2 being Autistic? I struggle enough with 1 Autistic child lol.

  3. Kita
    Aug 23, 2011 @ 20:32:28

    Lol although it has its more challenging moments,as you will know,i think hubby would agree with me in saying a good sense of humour has helped,its definately an interesting life,but i love it.They have made me look at the world with new eyes 🙂 and although its hard work,i wouldnt swap them for the world.Reading one of your earlier posts i noticed that you said you had placenta praevia and accretta with your last baby,i dont come across many people that have had this…i had it too with my last baby was in hospital from 30 weeks my little girl was born at 34 weeks,under a general anaesthetic c section but they couldnt control the bleeding as placenta was so embedded so was given an emergency d hysterectomy.:( am 34 so looking at an early menopause but hey i managed to come out the other side of that 🙂 so ill manage!

  4. Rachel Gully
    Aug 26, 2011 @ 21:39:23

    Gosh, it's not often you get to actually hear of other people's experiences. I only know 1 other person that had the same as me (we were in hospital together). I'm sorry yours ended in a hysterectomy, it's not the best outcome is it? You sound like you are coping with it well though? X

Talk to me:

