Frumpy mummy….

Today when picking K up from nursery, I was approached by one of her friends Mum’s. She is arranging a “Mum’s Night” on Friday night, and would I be up for it. It’s nothing fancy, just a meal at the local Italian. She just thought it would be nice for the mums to get together.

So, I’ve agreed to go….but I have a dilemma! I have nothing to wear! I mean seriously! My baby is nearly 9months old now, but I am still wearing my maternity trousers *hangs head in shame*. Why do they have to be so darn comfy?

Obviously, because I am Breastfeeding I can’t diet, so I am still carrying baby weight from not only A but from J and K also!

Now, I will have to find something to wear (or buy something), that will hide my mummy tummy and not make me look so fat and frumpy. Fashion, is not my thing (although I am getting better). I see things I like, but they never seem to look good on me. So, I tend to stick to the usual jeans, t-shirts, baggy clothes etc, which probably make me look worse….where is Gok Wan when you need him eh??

So I am asking you…. Anyone out there have any ideas how a “curvy”, size 14(ish) can look not so frumpy?? Pllleeeaaasseeee

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. The future Mrs C
    Jul 06, 2011 @ 21:39:26

    You can never go wrong with skinny jeans and heels :0) x

  2. Rachel Gully
    Jul 06, 2011 @ 22:05:57

    I do actually own a pair of skinny jeans (if you can call my tree trunks skinny lol)… They're high waisted too so I can hide my bulge in them lol. Might go to towand buy a new top to go with 🙂

  3. AmyCS
    Jul 06, 2011 @ 22:10:45

    I feel your pain hon – I've been living in jeans and nursing tops since T was born and feel blurgh. I'm a size 16 at the moment too which is depressing given that I was into size 14 jeans when T was 10 days old (a full size smaller than when I'd fallen pg with him). Anyway – I ended up buying a couple of maxi dresses the other day. I tried loads on in Debenhams, but ended up buying a couple from Evans which do go from a small size 14 and who do make dress that flatter and hide the niggly lumps and bumps (of which I have many). Oh – and I have some fantastic control pants to hold in the jiggly bits ;).

  4. Rachel Gully
    Jul 06, 2011 @ 22:19:20

    I squeeze in to a 14 lol. I've never thought about Evan's. I have seen loads of really nice bits that I think “oh, that looks really nice” but I just know that it wouldn't look good on me. I'm 5ft 4in, wide hips and too much tummy.

  5. cazandi
    Jul 07, 2011 @ 07:18:20

    Me too hon I totally relate! What about a long tunic top, empire line waist (just under bust) is good? Next had some not too pricey. Also low cut to show off that breastfeeding cleavage – it does have some benefits lol 🙂

  6. Sara
    Jul 07, 2011 @ 08:24:49

    dresses/long tops that float from the waistline with leggings! and i dont think you looks frumpy btw!xxx

Talk to me:

