Mess Mess Everywhere

As I sit here writing, I should be tidying up, for my house looks like a bomb has gone off.

Kids would rather go to their rooms than help tidy their toys away, yet are more than happy to tidy up at school/other people’s houses. Why is that?

I get disheartened spending hours of my day tidying up, for the Tasmanian devils to return home and it’s back to looking like a hurricane has hit at 100mph.

The thing is, we live in a tiny 3 bed link terrace, with no storage spaces and poky rooms. We have Ikea Trofast and wooden storage benches coming out of our ears, but they still can’t house the larger items. Our garage is full of, I don’t know what.

Personally, I would love nothing more than to move to a bigger house, where the kids can have their toys in their room, or a designated play room. But then, that means more tidying up in J’s room.

J is 5 going on 15! His room is a cross between Kevin the Teenager and Steptoe’s yard. Yet, he has the smallest room in the house! Today, I spent over an hour tidying it up.

What I would like to know is, does ANYONE out there have any tips to making a small house with too many inhabitants, not necessarily clutter free (as I don’t think that’s possible with kids)….but manageable?

Would love to hear your tips…in the meantime…I’m going to dream about moving to that bigger house.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nel
    Jul 06, 2011 @ 19:47:36

    Its soul destroying when you are sitting on the sofa looking at the mess, isn't it.

    I haven't got any storage tips, but I am quite ruthless in getting rid of old and broken toys or those that aren't popular, whether its into the bin for the broken ones or to charity shops, school fair for the others. It only makes a tiny difference space wise in the grand scheme of things but it makes me feel a bit more in control of the plastic tat that is taking over my house.

  2. Rachel Gully
    Jul 06, 2011 @ 22:13:04

    Thank you for your comment. I do go through and throw old old toys that are broken etc. I have just sorted out some toys that are no longer played with actually, and they will be going on eBay/charity shop soon. I think Toys will not be appearing on the Christmas lists this year 😉

Talk to me:

